ASSRI 2014


Fourth Australasian Symposium on Service Research and Innovation (ASSRI’14)

INSPIRE Centre (Building 25)
University of Canberra
November 24-25, 2014

Conference Theme: Service Innovation in the Digital Age



The effective study, design and implementation of service systems has been recognized as a key driver of future prosperity in both the developed and developing world. This recognition has been a driver and platform for research over the past decade that has sought to build a multi-disciplinary foundation for a science of services. The Fourth Australasian Symposium on Service Research and Innovation (ASSRI'14) provides an important forum for advancing this agenda in the Australasian region; analyzing and assessing the progress towards this goal, and providing a forum for discussing emerging directions in service research.

ASSRI'14 will bring together a multi-disciplinary group of researchers and practitioners who are engaged in the field of services, broadly defined. The symposium will feature keynote addresses and invited presentations by prominent thought leaders in the field, and there will be concurrent sessions focused on the latest research supporting the different academic perspectives on services. Researchers and practitioners are invited to join us in Canberra this November, and where appropriate, to submit papers and proposals for workshops, tutorials and panel sessions that reflect the breadth and quality of work being undertaken in the field of services. Contributions related to the conference theme will be particularly welcome.

The Symposium is sponsored by the Service Science Society of Australia. As a national body representing the services research community of Australasia, the Society seeks to promote the understanding and use of service science in government, industry and academia. The Australasian Symposium on Service Research and Innovation series also serves as its annual meeting of the Society.

Dowload PDF


Paper submissions should be limited to a maximum of 15 pages in the Springer LNBIP format (see link), and will be reviewed by the Program Committee on the basis of overall quality, relevance to service research, originality, significance, and clarity. Please submit papers through EasyChair. ASSRI proceedings are traditionally published under the Springer LNBIP series.

An award of $500 will be presented to the authors of the best paper as determined by the Program Committee Chairs. The award is sponsored by ISSIP




General Chair:
  •         ► Prof. Byron Keating, University of Canberra
Program Co-Chairs:
  •         ► Prof. Boualem Benatallah, University of NSW/li>
  •         ► Prof. Dimitrios Georgakopoulos, RMIT
  •         ► Dr. Amit Chopra, Lancaster University
Publicity Chair:
  •         ► Dr Raechel Johns, University of Canberra
Track Chairs:
  •         ► Service computing: Prof. Fethi Rabhi, University of NSW
  •         ► Service management: Prof. Alison Dean, University of Newcastle
  •         ► Services marketing: Prof. Felix Mavondo, Monash University
  •         ► General service track: Prof. Ali Quazi, University of Canberra
Program Committee (partial list):
  •         ► Abu Saleh, University of Canberra
  •         ► Renu Agarwal, UTS Sydney
  •         ► Don Allen, CISCO Systems, USA
  •         ► Ralph Badinelli, Virginia Tech
  •         ► Boualem Benatallah, UNSW
  •         ► Athman Bouguettaya, University of Sydney
  •         ► Nirmit Desai, IBM Research India
  •         ► Schahram Dustdar, TU Wien
  •         ► Dragan Gasevic, Athabasca University
  •         ► Aditya Ghose, University of Wollongong
  •         ► Bill Hefley, University of Pittsburgh
  •         ► Byron Keating, University of Canberra
  •         ► Ryszard Kowalczyk, Swinburne University of Technology
  •         ► Surya Nepal, CSIRO
  •         ► Matti Rossi, Aalto University School of Economics
  •         ► Simon Poon, University of Sydney
  •         ► Babis Theodoulidis, Manchester Business School
  •         ► Alberta Zomaya, University of Sydney
  •         ► David Solnet, University of Queensland
  •         ► Marjan Aslanzadeh, University of Canberra


Important Dates:

  •         ► Paper submission Deadline: 18 October 2014 25 October 2014 (1 week extension)
  •         ► Author Notification: 1 November 2014
  •         ► Camera Ready deadline: 15 November 2014
  •         ► Conference Registration deadline: 15 November 2014
  •         ► Conference Dates: 24-25 November 2014